Crystal Hotel Banquet
Home About Us Sit Down Buffet Testimonial Contact Us
Testimonial

As a wedding planner, I love working with vendors who are communicative and professional. Hotel Banquet catered my clients' wedding reception at the Doubletree by Hilton in Downtown LA. Andrew and his team arrived on time and had everything ready to go from the start. They provided a 10 course family style Chinese dinner and each course was served hot and at the perfect pace. They also provided special dishes for my clients' vegetarian guests.

Before the wedding, Andrew and I communicated via phone calls and confirmed updates via emails. He was fast to respond every time my clients and I had questions. He was calm and always reassuring that he'll take care of everything catering so we have nothing to worry about.

If you're looking for an authentic Chinese banquet catering with delicious selections, look no further, Hotel Banquet has you covered. Thanks Andrew for taking care of my clients and making coordination as easy as possible!


Tina L.
San Gabriel, CA
Event Date: Apr 15, 2019

This review is long overdue but I'm so thankful I found Andrew and his team! I was referred to Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering by a friend who knew I was stressed with trying to plan a surprise luncheon for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. I was calling multiple restaurants for reservations and I had previously dismissed the idea of catering thinking it would be too expensive. Thank goodness I checked it out! Andrew was very responsive and accommodating and quickly assured me that he would take care of everything. All I had to do was choose which dishes I wanted from a pretty extensive variety. They covered everything from the food, delivery, linens, silverware, drinks, take out containers, you name it! It was such a relief knowing I didn't have to worry about such a big part of the event and could focus on other things. He also made arrangements from someone to come back a few hours later to pick up everything same day so my venue would not charge us extra. The only hiccup we had was one dish was not what I had originally ordered and I was not told of the substitution. But the food was delicious! Multiple guests commented on the food and there was plenty so nearly all our 50 guests took some food home! Thank you again, Andrew! You were a life saver and would recommend Hotel Banquet to anyone in a heartbeat


julie k.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Apr 3, 2019

I would like to take a chance to thank Andrew and his team for the authentic Chinese gourmet catering services over such a short notice in the new year. Our company hosted a Chinese New Year client event with over 100+ guests on Jan. 11th. If not with their delicacies and desserts, this event would not be so satisfying and successful!! I highly recommend to seek their assistance if you ever need to plan for a professional gathering event. Thank you so much for your great help Andrew!


Christine C.
Chino Hills, CA
Event Date: Jan 19, 2019

I used Hotel Banquet (aka Grace Catering) for my wedding and they were superb! We wanted family-style Chinese food but did not want to have it at a Chinese restaurant. Before stumbling upon Grace Catering, it was a struggle to find good Chinese food that catered for a wedding. As soon as I found Grace Catering, I knew I had found what I was looking for. First off, they provided a 10-course meal food tasting free of charge, so that we can judge the food before we made our final decision. The food was amazing. We learned that the cook everything on site so the dishes would be fresh when served, so we booked them straight away. Andrew was the main person I was in contact with and he was great! He worked with us to customize the courses based on our liking and made sure it was exactly what we wanted. He was very easy to talk to and readily available to answer any of our questions. A week before the wedding, he called us to triple check all the details and reassured us that he will make sure that everything will run smoothly for our day. On the day of, Andrew personally came to the venue early to oversee his team and made sure everything was in place in a timely manner before the reception started. His team continued to check on us throughout the night to make sure that my husband and I had enough food/water/tea. Andrew and his team's hospitality is incomparable and I would highly recommend anyone looking for Chinese food catering to book with Grace Catering.


Jennifer L.
Alhambra, CA
Event Date: Jan 14, 2019

For our wedding, we went with Hotel Banquet (AKA Grace Catering) for our outside caterer. The price was within our budget and they serve Chinese family style food (a big plus, since both sides of the family wanted this kind of food). We tried the food at their tasting, and my mother-in-law approved it, so we decided to hire Andrew. From the get-go, he was very understanding of the Chinese traditions and didn't question any of our concerns. Hotel Banquet was actually a preferred vendor at our venue, so Andrew knew the ins and outs of the place, which put us all at ease. He was the only vendor allowed to cook in the kitchen, which meant all the food was brought out hot and fresh for our guests. Usually, the venue requires all outside catering vendors to bring the food in and heat it up in the kitchen, but luckily, we had Andrew :)

There was a mishap with one of the appetizers where the endives were not fresh that season, so Andrew called me straight away and recommended another dish in its place. I trusted his judgment and that was that.

The day before the wedding, Andrew called to reassure us not to worry at all about the food, and he made a promise to take care of everything. That took a lot of stress off of us, and on the wedding day, Andrew came through with this promise and all of the relatives loved the food. Honestly, the 10 courses were so much that everyone had to take home leftovers. Someone even stole the leftovers from our sweetheart table! That's how good the food was. I'm not even upset that someone stole our leftovers, we wouldn't've been able to eat them at home anyways since we were staying at the hotel, but that was pretty hilarious.

TLDR: Andrew is amazing to work with, the food was great, and everything is reasonably priced.


Debbie T.
Alhambra, CA
Event Date: Dec 5, 2018

Working with Andrew was a wonderful experience for my wedding. I first heard about him and my catering service from my wife, so we decided to go do a food tasting with him. I can honestly say the lobster he made for us was the best lobster I've ever had, it was so flavorful and came right off the shell. The other dishes he had, like prawns & walnut and the steamed fish, we're also amazing, so we hired Andrew to cater for our big day.

Andrew is very knowledgable and accommodating. He was willing to change 3-4 dishes to ones we preferred more, offered his expert suggestions, and also provided his recommendations for finger foods for cocktail hour. The curry samosas were amazing! During the reception my wife and I, as the bride and groom, were only able to have 3-4 dishes before we attended to other reception events, and they were all delicious (cold dish, steamed fish, lobster, and prawns & walnuts). I wish I could have more at this very moment. Many of my guests, who ate all the dishes, said it was one of the best, if not the best, reception dinners they've ever had.

Out of all the caterers we could have chosen from, I'm extremely glad my wife and I went with Andrew and his services. I highly recommend him, and would hire his services again for other big party events.


Hung V.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Nov 15, 2018

I'm writing this review from the POV of a wedding planner who has worked with Andrew and his team twice. My clients have been very happy with the food and service provided by the team.

They offer tastings of the full 10-course Chinese banquet menus every few months, so my clients are able to taste everything on the menu beforehand and make adjustments and customizations for their wedding.

They provide everything on the tabletop from the table linen to the lazy susan, serving dishes and china. They cook everything on site, so everything is freshly made and piping hot when served - they bring in their own kitchen setup, so clients don't incur any additional rental fees for kitchen equipment (this is rare)!

The banquet team is professional, reliable, and well-trained; everything is executed as planned based on the timeline + details we provide to the team. Their banquet captain James, who we worked with twice, is on top of everything and very helpful and collaborative.

They are willing to conform with different venues' requirements and rules, and have an excellent standard of organization and cleanliness. They have been praised by venue managers at some of the strictest venues. Best of all, they are very reasonably priced. I will definitely recommend Hotel Banquet to future clients.


Lilian H.
San Gabriel, CA
Event Date: Oct 12, 2018

Andrew, Andrew, Andrew! What can I say! Great Guy! Andrew and his staff provided my wife and I the wedding reception of our dreams. Him and his staff were amazing! If you want a great wedding reception and/or corporate catering; Andrew is your guy! Thank you for the wonderful and amazing job you guys did at our wedding! If you are looking for great food; affordable prices; and amazing experience; Grace Catering/Hotel Banquet is the way to go! Thanks again Andrew!

Andy & Channsy


Andy C.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Sep 26, 2018

Andrew is so awesome not only his food quality but also his spirit and encouragement that he made for us from time to time. Every time we met him for wedding preparation he always gave us advices from any general stuffs to very detailed items. He also treated us Vietnamese food as well, not once but twice or third time.

In wedding reception, Andrew, his manager and staffs were very helpful and made my wedding even more beautiful and perfect. The food was so good and generous especially lobster, fried rice, crab claws... We're so thankful to Hotel Banquet and if not with them, my wedding can't be so happy and meaningful like this!

It's not easy to handle an outdoor wedding but he did it with love and professionalism. You can't be wrong if you choose Hotel banquet for your next event!


Bryan L.
Garden Grove, CA
Event Date: Aug 28, 2018

Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much to you and your team for providing excellent service and amazing food for our special day.

We appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,


Sarah & Jason

Hi Andrew!!!

We want let you know that we are very happy to have had your team at the wedding, the food was amazing and all of our guests loved it. Your team was super professional and very organized! Everything went very smoothly. We will keep you in mind and will recommend Hotel Banquet to friends and family in the future!


Kelly Ngo
Event Date: April 9, 2018

To make a long story short we threw a shotgun wedding in less than one month. We found Andrew and the hotel banquet on Yelp and my husband knew he was the one.
Earning every 5 stars after we met him Andrew made certain our catering experience was nothing short of first class.
The icing on top of the cake was the service of his staff on the day of the wedding. From freshly prepped food cooked from scratch to the manager making sure the bride and groom were taken care of.
Needless to say this will be the only catering company we will use going forward.


Fancy K.
Westminster, CA
Event Date: December, 2017

It's commonly accepted for wedding food to be bland and tasteless. So I wanted to differentiate from the common wedding by having AMAZING food. Andrew was not only priced very affordable, he tasted the best. hands down, the best. He offers a free complimentary meal where you can taste and see what he would be serving at the wedding.

It was fantastic to hear people continuously compliment us on how great the food was. The fascinating thing when talking to my guests? Different people had a different take on what the best dish was. In fact, my wife and I were approached by several people asking which restaurant we hired so they could go there again.

The serving size were generous. At the end of the night, I dont recall seeing any tables finish all the food, however, every table took him their left overs.

One (positive for me) thing about Andrew is that he's a very hands on caterer. He offers great suggestions and wants to be involved so that everyone comes out with a positive experience. I appreciate the extra care and thought. In fact, during the wedding, my wife and I got our own server, which was really nice and I appreciated the thought.

I'd recommend Andrew and his team to anyone.


Richard C.
San Jose, CA
Event Date: December, 2017

When it came to my wedding, my top priority was ensuring that the food was excellent.

After trying many Chinese-style menus, we decided that Hotel Banquet was the right choice for us. With Hotel Banquet, you are able to sample the ENTIRE menu and see the full presentation, as if it would be served during your wedding for FREE!

Andrew, the owner, is extremely personable and professional. You are able to customize the menu, so that it fits your budget and needs. He works with you to ensure you receive the highest quality in food and service. He is also very responsive to emails and phone calls.

His team did not disappoint at all. They were very attentive and courteous. All my guests complimented that our food was excellent.

Do yourself a favor and choose Hotel Banquet for your next event!


Lo R.
Orange County, CA
Event Date: October, 2017

Andrew and his team catered our wedding on August 26th, 2017. During our struggle to find a caterer we stumbled upon Hotel Banquet on yelp and decided to try their sample dinner night. Unfortunately I wasn't able to make it, however my wife and her family went instead and were impressed with the quality and tasting of food. They enjoyed it so much that my wife scheduled another sample meal night and brought me along with her. During that night we had several courses from a fruit plate to ribeye and walnuts to steamed fish. Everything I had that night was amazing so we decided to book. Andrew insisted we do regular dinner style catering if possible but at our venue we could only do a buffet setting. His reasoning is that buffet style requires the food to be kept warm for a longer period of time thus reducing the quality of the foods and even ruins some dishes all together. We decided to press on anyway and ordered a wide array of foods for our reception. The day before the wedding, Andrew invited us over for lunch to go over any last minute details. What we didn't expect was a full meal with two huge plates all on him. Salt and pepper shrimp and shrimp and mushrooms were amazing. On the wedding night, I wasn't able to try much food however I did taste the peking duck and it was perfect. Throughout the dinner service i walked around and got feedback on the food and no one had anything negative to say. After the dinner service, the catering team packed up all the left overs into boxes for guests to take home so nothing went to waste and our guests were able to enjoy the food again. I highly recommend Andrew and his team for their fair prices, great food, and awesome services.

Thank you Andrew!

Kay and Anthony


Tony P.
Camp Pendleton North, CA
Event Date: August, 2017

My Santa Barbara wedding was perfect! I will definitely be working with Andrew and his team again...

After becoming thrilled and newly engaged, my fiance and I wasted no time in planning our wedding. We both fell in love with Santa Barbara and many memories shared on our first date there, so it seemed perfect to plan our summer wedding on the coast however there seemed to be one major problem; there are no Chinese caterers (or at least none that we preferred) in beautiful Santa Barbara.

We met with several caterers here in OC and were thrilled with not only Hotel Banquets effort to travel a bit north for our wedding, but were blown away by the delicious tasting and presentation that we experienced prior to our big day. The superb 10 course meal, excellent hosting, and versatility that Andrew and his team provided was above and beyond. With the majority of my family being vegetarian and pescatarian, Andrew not only changed a few items on the menu for my family and friends but he also made suggestions on dishes that not only fulfilled our requests but offered amazing presentation as well. Plating portions are larger than anything I had experienced at other weddings, plates came out sizzling hot, and each dish was flavorful and cooked perfectly. A lot of brides may say they weren't able to eat on their wedding day, but I made sure to enjoy each dish since I looked forward to it from our previous tasting.

Andrew always reassured me that everything would be taken care of and to relax and stress less. Of course planning a wedding in Santa Barbara when I'm local to OC isn't relaxing whatsoever, Andrew never failed to communicate with my husband and I, he answered all our questions in a timely manner, and each time we met before our wedding he always treated us as family rather than a customer.

Thank you again Andrew and team for not only providing us with an excellent meal and amazing service, but a memorable experience that met all expectations.


Samantha G.
Garden Grove, CA
Event Date: July, 2017

I had an amazing experience using them for my most recent wedding reception, the diversity of food, authenticity of its true Chinese roots are unforgettable The manager Andrew is amazing in organization and discussing the best deal with you. He is also very connected with wedding venues and I sincerely appreciated how he pointed us to an ideal location. The food portions are great and plenty of guests enjoyed them


Xu H.
Yucaipa, CA
Event Date: June, 2017

Amazing lobster, walnut shrimp, and vegetable. Every item is fresh and big portion.
The dinning area is clean and the space is big.
Easy parking in front of the restaurant.
Great and professional services.
I would recommend to stop by and take a look at this restaurant.


Fu J.
Parsippany, NJ
Event Date: June, 2017

Great food & presentation. Would highly recommend companies, bridal parties and other groups looking to cater Asian food for their functions. Andrew and his team does an incredible job to ensure that they provide the best quality and quantity. You can't go wrong with them!


Julia H.
Garden Grove, CA
Event Date: May, 2017

I had my 26th birthday preparty at this place, the owner is a very nice guy and he made a custom menu for my 6 table party, seafood dish and steak is fresh and tastey. Nice place to have family party and catering.


Alex C.
Las Vegas, NV
Event Date: February, 2017

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! The food was excellent. Everyone loved it. Tony and his team were awesome. They go beyond what is expected. We can't ask for more than that.

We worked with Andrew most of the time. He always say, DON'T WORRY, WE'LL TAKE CARE OF YOU! " and he did. He not only promised quality food and service, he delivered care and love like that of a family.

Thank you so much !! You made my daughter's 18th bday a wonderful one!


Art Marjorie M.
Anaheim, CA
Event Date: February, 2017

We are so blessed to have Grace Catering be part of our party. Andrew is friendly, wise, and professional. He advised tips to make our party unforgettable. He also helped us to make a special dish, which is not included in the menu, and our guests were amazed!! The food was great and staffs were awesome. Thank you Grace Catering!


Grace C.
Chino, CA
Event Date: February, 2017

If you are in search for Asian Cuisine for your catered event, look no further than Grace Catering of Garden Grove. As the rental coordinator of a 400+ capacity venue in San

Diego, I have had the opportunity to observe the operations as well as partake in the fare of many catering companies. With Grace Catering, I was blown away by the service, quality, variety and the freshness of their savory offerings. Andrew Wang, the owner and master chef of Grace Catering is a professional and master of his craft. He is a "straight-shooter" who will advise you with his ultimate goal of making your experience a happy one and that your guests leave with smiles on their faces.

I was astonished that their dishes were vibrant and plentiful. The green vegetables were crisp and bright as opposed to the limp and wilted offerings of many companies even those who are local in contrast to Grace Catering which is about 100 miles away. I was impressed with their professional and smiling staff who were not only courteous and efficient, but very accommodating to the guests.

It is hard to do justice to the quality, quantity and savory taste of the food by writing about it. The trays of food were brimming, hot and diverse. Many of the food offerings I have seen by other caterers resemble that of "all you can eat" buffets...but this is not the case here. Some of the dishes were enhanced by such diverse additions as lotus roots, black fungus and plenty of black mushrooms.

I was so impressed with this company that I strongly recommended them to my Church (the oldest Chinese church in San Diego at 139 years old) to cater the annual Chinese New Year Dinner. It was a risky move for me to buck tradition as we normally hired chefs to come in and prepare the food and had the youth serve as waiters. The results? It was a stellar success!!! We received so many compliments from the attendees from the uniqueness of the food offerings, the attentiveness of the staff even to the diversity of the drink station! I even observed their staff assisting with carrying plates for those who were less ambulatory because of physical challenges. That was the first year. The subsequent year, we used them again and we had to unfortunately, for the first time in our history, turn away guests because we were at the maximum capacity. If results are any indication of performance, Grace Catering has under promised and over delivered. I asked the owner, Andrew Wang, the key to his success and he told me that he uses top grade ingredients and is committed to making everyone happy (and all without MSG).


Phillip L.
San Diego, CA
Event Date: February, 2017

I was able to attend Riverside's pre Lunar Festival dinner where I was able to witness the ability of Andrew as he was able to provide a full 10 course meal to 400 guests. He has demonstrated that he is fully capable of handling any level of event with a strong logistical ability! Not only was his skills proven, his food was delicious! Usually my standards and expectations for catering are quite low but after this experience my expectations have rose.


Patrick C.
Riverside, CA
Event Date: October, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great. The owner is very friendly also. Went to friend's weddings served by his catering service before. Finally had the pleasure talking to him personally at Riverside Lunar fast fund raising banquet.


Roger C.
Riverside, CA
Event Date: Jul, 2016

we had an amazing wedding in Malibu and you were a big part of it. delicious food - we did the 10 courses banquet style with lobster, filet, whole fish and honey walnut shrimp etc. our chinese guests and american guests all loved the food. thank you andrew!


Chris W.
Manhattan, NY
Event Date: Jun, 2016

My husband and I were very lucky to find Grace Catering/Hotel Banquet for our wedding in 2 months ago in San Diego. We met Andrew at the food tasting at his restaurant about a year before the wedding. Andrew is a down to earth, straight forward guy and an expert in his field, and he doesnt mind giving you helpful advices. I cant stand like typical Asians who beat around the bush just to dig into your wallet... but Andrew is just the opposite and I respect him for that.

We had about 240 guest, mostly Vietnamese, so we decided to stick with the traditional sit-down style. Andrew brought his team of servers, chef and their own kitchen, condiments, table cover, water, tea!!! It was AMAZING how they could serve food at great quality and speed. The servers were very professional in their attitude and attire. Food was hot and steamy, we love the lobster, steamed fish, walnut shrimp, cold platter, love it all!! We got a lot of compliments from our guests and they even to-go left overs (we got a few boxes ourselves and still tasted great the next day)...

I remember Andrew kept telling us not to worry he'll take care of everything, he was absolutely right. So trust Andrew, he knows what he's doing and you'll have 1 less thing to stress about on your big day.


Lynn P.
San Diego, CA
Event Date: Jun, 2016

My now husband and I were intensely searching for a catering company that serves good Asian cuisine and we were so thankful we found Andrew! We fell in love with everything at the tasting and agreed after a few courses that Hotel Banquet was what we needed at our wedding. We also met Andrew there and he was just the most pleasant, easy going, and personable guy! He was SO relaxed because he knew he trained his chefs and staff very well. We did most of our transactions over the phone and via email which he responds to very quickly. There were a few things I wanted to change with the menu and Andrew was so incredibly flexible and even gave us a few suggestions which worked out perfectly.

He came to see the venue and meet with our coordinator a few weeks before our wedding and answered all my questions with "Don't worry, I been in this business for many years...I don't want you guys to do anything. My staff will handle it..." which of course made me shart my pants because that answered nothing. But honestly, that is EXACTLY what happened! They even drive through that nasty OC traffic to get to our venue in Rancho Cucamonga just because we needed them there at 3pm! They all worked so efficiently and set up and broke down SO fast I swear it was like I didn't even know they were there.

My husband and I had a sit down, 10 course, Chinese meal. They cooked the food on site so everything was fresh. The manager for the day was Sophia. She was AMAZING to work with. Absolutely the sweetest person ever! She confirmed the schedule with me to make sure everything went smoothly, which it did. The food was nothing less than exquisite. Everyone loved it! Unlike any other bride and groom, my husband and I were NOT going to miss out on our food because we knew how good it was going to be! Everyone raved about the food! They were absolutely NOT stingy with the good stuff. My fried rice was LOADED with shrimp! And everyone had more than their share of everything, even the lobster! The staff even put leftovers in boxes for my husband and I and our guests. There was absolutely no lag time between dishes. It was all timed so perfectly. They provided pitchers of water and coke for our guests that were refilled promptly.

Andrew even came out to make sure things went smoothly! We're so grateful to him and his staff! This was the best decision ever! AND the prices were SO affordable! In comparison to American weddings at 100+ per person where you get like steak and a salad, we got SO much more for SO much less! I definitely recommend Andrew and his team! Thanks for making our day special! -Lisa and Elvis


Lisa P.
Upland, CA
Event Date: Jun, 2016

This review is about the food tasting on May 6, 2016.I was searching for a caterer to do our year end party. 40% of our employees and clients are Asian, so we feel that having Asian style banquet could be a good idea for this year. I found Hotel Banquet on google. I was lucky been able to sign up for the food tasting the last minute. I just signed up in the morning on the food tasting day. Within 2 hours, around noon time, I received a phone call from Andrew and he told me"Don't worry, just come". I was so excited. It took me a little bit time to find the location because I don't read Chinese or Japanese? whatever the characters on the signage outside the facility ...

There was a guy greeting guests at the front entrance.

That was Andrew.I personally like his personality a lot. He is very straight forward and provide us the guidelines like bulletin, right at the points, no bullshit, and not pushy. My manager and I loved most of their food. I was amazed by the lobster and fried rice the most. Wow wow wow, such a big portion and it tasted so good. Moreover, beer was provided during the food tasting which was a big plus to me. Thank you, Hotel Banquet and Andrew, for your generous food tasting event and helped us finding the venue as well. We love the venue very much and we got a great deal because of you. Today, after our committee meeting, I would like to inform you that YOU GOT OUR BUSINESS. I will see you on 12-16-16. Again, thank you very much for your hospitality.


Beto R.
Garden Grove
Event Date: May, 2016

Andrew and his team were amazing. From day 1 up until the wedding Andrew was there for us. He helped so much with every question we had regarding what kind of food to get, the venue (Diamond Bar Center), recommendations for vendors (sweetly memorable), and so much more. He was so easy to talk to and work with and he genuinely was happy to help. It was a pleasure and honor to work with Andrew and his staff and and we highly highly recommend them for any and all events! Our guests to this day still talk about how amazing the food and service was! Thank you again Andrew and Hotel Banquet catering!!


Lorenzo Y.
Tustin, CA
Event Date: March, 2016

So honored to give this review (and recommendation) for Andrew and Hotel Banquet Catering. My husband and I started our caterer search last summer and were so happy to find Andrew. Andrew was wonderful from the beginning that we met with him! Such a nice gentleman! He was able to put our mind at ease! Very helpful with suggestion for the menu, and within a week we had scheduled our tasting. The food was plentiful and delicious, and the process was easy and fun. We really can't say enough good things about Andrew.

Admittedly, we had many special requirement for our wedding menu, and Andrew rolled with punches. He made helpful suggestions and gave us a really good price!

Our dinner was very formal, and Andrew and his staff took care of everyone wonderfully. His staffs were amazing, very professional. They dressed impeccably in black and white, very cheerful and helpful to our guests. The food. Only one word described the food at our reception: DELICIOUS! Everyone is still raving about how absolutely delicious the Chinese dinner was.

The most important point in this entire review is that Andrew is simply a wonderful person who genuinely cares that your big day is enjoyable and exactly how you want it. He is the type of person you want to have in your corner because you will always feel cared for and secure that your event will be amazing with Hotel Banquet Catering. I don't give many referrals ever. But, I was so impressed with Andrew's business, attitude and genuine spirit that I'm happy to write this recommendation.


Mandy S.
La Puente, CA
Event Date: January, 2016

"The best wedding meal I've ever had."

"I can't believe they pulled this off!"

"You've spoiled all other wedding dinners for us."

Mission accomplished.

The main priority for our wedding was to serve a memorable meal for our guests. We really wanted a Chinese-style meal but were unsuccessful in locating anyone in Southern California, until we found Andrew.

We had Andrew and his team at Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering handle the food for our wedding this August in Santa Barbara. They totally killed it.

We went with a 10 course meal, served family style, for our 200 person reception. Andrew worked with us to create a menu and serving setup that accommodated the guests and outdoor venue. We were able to strike the right balance between an authentic, delicious Chinese meal (a taste level that my Chinese relatives referred to as "fei chang hao chi") that was also accessible to Western palates (my wife's family being from the midwest).

Andrew also prepared food for cocktail hour that exceeded our expectations.

The Chinese and Chinese-American guests in attendance were in awe at the on-site preparation of the food. I think many of them took more pictures of the actual prep area than the food itself, as the logistics of such an undertaking are truly massive, wedding or not.

All of the guests couldn't stop talking about the food, the presentation, the high level of service that his staff provided.

Our menu consisted of: crab meat + shredded chicken soup, stir fried lobster w/ wine and butter sauce, honey walnut prawns, crab claws with shrimp paste, sauteed string beans w/minced park, peking duck, tea smoked chicken, Andrew style seven vegetables, Andrew style filet mignon, and BBQ pork fried rice.

And, much to the delight of some of our relatives, they provided to-go boxes and bags to take home the leftovers. :)

It's obvious that Andrew is a pro who has done this hundreds of times, if not more. There are obvious concerns from wedding planners/coordinators who need everything planned down to the second 6 months ahead of time, but when Andrew says, "Don't worry about it," he really means it. Andrew is a really great person who now feels like a member of the family.

We really can not recommend him enough.


Andrew H.
Brooklyn, NY
Event Date: October, 2015

Imagine the following scenario: you need to find a caterer who can serve an outstanding Chinese meal for your upcoming 600-guest wedding reception in San Diego. There are no Chinese restaurants in the area capable of seating this many guests, and the only affordable remaining venues lack a formal kitchen. There are also no caterers in the area with the pedigree to handle such a task. Stress levels are high.

After some investigation, you find Grace Catering, based in Orange County. The Yelp reviews pique your interest. You head to their website, finding the testimonials outstanding as expected, but containing some intriguing details about their eccentric leader, Andrew Wang. Who is this man of mystery?

A phone call later, and you're hooked. Andrew feels like a family member who is truly interested in making your event memorable. The size of the 600-person guest list doesn't faze him one bit. The location of the reception-nearly two hours from his base of operations-doesn't even warrant an iota of worry. It is clear his many years in the business have resulted in a supreme confidence that is well earned.

He insists on you and your family coming up for a tasting banquet, even though you've already decided to go with him. The tasting event is over the top, and helps you further customize a menu for the wedding reception. In person, Andrew really does feel like the wise and well-meaning uncle. He more than reassures you everything will go well, and gives helpful advice about some things you may have overlooked. Negotiations go smoothly, and a menu and price are agreed upon.

He makes the requisite site visit to the venue and works smoothly with the museum staff, showcasing his larger-than-life personality and jovial laugh. He lays out a blueprint on where the buffet lines will go to expedite service. He brings gifts for the museum staff and takes you out to lunch afterward. You are put at ease.

The big day arrives and Andrew shows up in person to ensure his "A-team" is all set and ready to go. He has little to do other than chat with you and other guests because his crew is on top of everything. Appetizers come out hot, crispy, and plentiful. The tempura shrimp is to die for! Dinner begins right on time, ushers direct 600 guests table-by-table into 8 efficient service lines, and within 25 minutes, everyone is already eating.

The rest of the evening is filled with multiple compliments about the food, heaping plates of seconds and thirds, succulent Peking Duck, and enough lobster for leftovers. A Chinese chef from New York compliments the meal. A competitor from a previous season of MasterChef calls the buffet "top level." The wedding cake provided is light, delicious, and of course, plentiful.

Local guests are provided take home boxes, and many cart away multiple boxes. No one leaves hungry. Andrew's staff is efficient and courteous, from set-up to final break-down. The event, and the food, are a memorable success.

Two days later, Andrew makes a follow-up phone call. The conversation, like all those throughout the past 6 months, is pleasant and heartwarming, just like he is family. You feel a tinge of nostalgia knowing you won't be speaking with him anymore with the same frequency, but cannot help but smile knowing you've made a friend and memories for life.

Thank you, Andrew, for all your care and reassurance, and for treating us like family and not just another client. You and your staff went over and beyond to make the day special for all of us. May you continue to be a blessing to others in all your future endeavors.

Dale, Sharon, Daniel, and Antoinette Lieu


Daniel Lieu
Air & Space Museum, San Diego
Event Date: August, 2015

Andrew and Hotel Banquet catered our wedding in Malibu on 6/27/2015. It was really special, and I received a lot of compliments afterwards for the food, which was served banquet-style in 10 courses. There was no issue with it being 'family-style' vs. plated, and people commented that they were happy it was served like that as it was still piping hot and delicious, much more so than 'wedding steak' that is always mediocre.

Some guests even were worried a bit that we spent too much money on food, but we actually saved money, especially when compared to western-style plated meals. Couldn't have been happier with the food.

The portions were incredibly generous, I had some friends who said they were full way too early, they didn't even realize they got to eat everything. They thought they had to pick one or two. But as the 10 courses rolled out, ranging from honey walnut prawn to peking duck, chopped filet mignon to garlic lobster stir fry to a whole steamed red snapper, many friends told me they hadn't eaten that well in a long time. At the end they even supplied to-go containers. Now, usually that sounds.. not so great at a wedding, but the mood was so festive and everyone so happy eating that it was more like, 'of course there are to-go boxes!' and everyone had a great time.

My only regret is, as the groom, I didn't get to eat much. I'm planning on visiting Andrew's restaurant back when I'm in California to get another taste :)

Andrew if you're reading this, I'm coming soon! Hahaha this place is great!


Brian L.
New York, NY
Event Date: August 2015

My wife and I got married this summer in a small university in Aliso Viejo. We searched all over Orange County for a restaurant to host a Chinese-style reception banquet. All the restaurants we found, however, either didn't have the right ambiance, were too expensive, or simply too far away from our ceremony venue. Eventually, we realized that catering was the way to go, and Hotel Banquet definitely proved to be a smart choice for us.

Professional:
Andrew and his staff were detail-oriented and personally went to inspect the reception hall at the university 2 weeks prior to our big day. They did a thorough walk-through and checked the space to consider everything, including: ease of setup, sufficient storage for hot/cold foods and water, ease of guest access, aesthetics, cleanup and disposal. Without needing us to intervene, Andrew would contact and coordinate with our wedding and site coordinators as much as possible to take care of things on our behalf and reduce our stress :) The serving staff were courteous, friendly and also very attentive to us--especially during the actual wedding night, which we really appreciated given how hectic the rest of the day goes.

Flexible:
Because we were hosting the reception on university grounds, there were extra restrictions--such as no open flames, limited access to water for food preparation, and stricter cleanliness rules. The catering staff worked around all these extra hurdles with no problem.

Good quality food
We loved how there was a wide variety of food items to choose from--including Chinese, Korean, and Japanese, at very reasonable prices. My wife and I were a bit antsy to eat much, but our guests enjoyed the food. From what we ate, it was very tasty and comparable to Asian buffet restaurants.

Generous
Hotel Catering is definely very generous with their food. Not only do they serve lots of each item of food that's ordered, they also prepare togo boxes so that guests can take any leftovers and nothing needs to go to waste. Even before our wedding day, we experienced the generosity because we were invited for a free taste testing session. It was a lavish banquet with a wide selection of tasty, high-quality food.

If we can give 6 stars, we definitely would. In short, we'd recommend Hotel Banquet to anyone looking for a quality Asian food cater!

Hope this helps :D


John P.
Santa Monica, CA
Event Date: July 2015

If I could give Andrew 10 stars, I would! My now-husband and I just got married September 5th at the Castle Green in Pasadena. We had 100 guests, and Andrew of Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering provided the food for our cocktail hour and Chinese banquet. If you are Chinese, you know how critical your family members can be about food. I mean, they will let you know if the soup isn't hot enough, the quantity not sufficient, the taste too salty, or whatever. So the most mindblowing thing to me was that there was not one criticism from my Chinese family and in contrast all we have heard from ALL of our guests is about how terrific the food was, how smoothly the banquet was run, how delicious each and every course was. My husband is not Chinese and I was initially a little worried that his family from the midwest might not enjoy the dinner as much, but I really had nothing to worry about. Even the picky kids seemed to thoroughly enjoy the tastes and the experience of the banquet. On our family-style menu was lo bster with garlic sauce, honey walnut shrimp, filet mignon, steamed whole fish, abalone and sea cucumber soup, and more . Good food is such a big part of the wedding, as is fine service and of course, a vendor who lets you feel confident that everything will run smoothly and all will be well. Uncle Andrew, as I have come to know him over many months of wedding planning, is the best vendor decision you can make. I'm so glad we didn't have boring wedding food and went for the Chinese banquet cooked on-site. It was an enormous hit!!! Andrew is a true professional as a caterer and is very experienced, so listen up when he gives you advice about how to pull off your event! He also happens to be a hilarious and kind human being with a big heart. I can't thank Andrew enough for helping us to create the classy, fun, unique and memorable celebration that we wanted. Soooooo glad we chose him, and would do it all over again if we could, no question! I hope one of my single friends uses him in the future so I can enjoy his banquet food one more time! Thank you, Uncle Andrew!!!!!!!!


L S.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: October 2015

2015Andrew is an amazing guy. From the first time we met him to the day of our wedding, Andrew was on top of everything. We came across Andrew's food at my friend's wedding. My wife and I knew we had to use him.

Our 10-course wedding meal was a big hit with everyone in attendance. It's hard to find quality AND quantity. Andrew manage to do both with ease. The food came out piping hot and service was prompt. We were able to customize our menu selections since we were having a Chinese/Korean wedding. People tore it up!

We also ordered appetizers for the cocktail hour. We're so glad we did; the shrimp tempura is still lingering in my thoughts. It was quite the treat after the ceremony.

My wife and I really enjoyed Andrew's words of wisdom on marriage and also his company. If you're looking for a 10-course wedding banquet feast then give Andrew a call. You won't regret it.


Alex C.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: January 2015

We have our wedding on August 22, 2015, very good portion of foods n good taste. The guest enjoy the foods. Andrew is very helpful n very easy to talk to as he has many years of experience of this . Good to go with him n I highly recommend him ...


Jessie L.
San Gabriel, CA
Event Date: August, 2015

Andrew from Grace Catering was professional and super fun to work with! If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! The banquet for our wedding was AMAZING, especially the lobster! Even though the day was busy for us, I still had time to sneak in a piece of that succulent lobster, and it was DELICIOUS! The staff that served our sit down banquet were also courteous. Thank you Grace Catering for makin! g our wedding so memorable!


Phoebe Guo (Chan)
San Diego
Event Date: November 2014

We hired Andrew and his team for our wedding and they were a big hit! Andrew has a lot of energy and really knows what he is doing. The food was plentiful (10 courses), tasty, and high quality (lobster, prawns, etc). His team is very experienced and can execute in any conditions. They built out their own kitchen at our venue brought 2 cooks and cooked all the food fast and completely fresh for 250+ guests! Not to mention, the wait staff was very professional. They were dressed well, kind, and very efficient. If you are looking for a Chinese banquet style meal for your event, Andrew is definitely the way to go.


Janelle L.
West Covina
Event Date: October 2014

Andrew at Grace Catering is very professional. He and his team deliver excellent food and even our American guests loved it. He communicates openly and will get back to you right away when you e-mail him. He even gives you his personal cell phone number. Andrew and his team are very experienced and he knows the catering business very well. It also helped that we had our wedding at the Diamond Bar Center and the staff at that Center knows Andrew.


Ken O.
Mailbu, CA
Event Date: September 2014

We were very fortunate to come across Andrew and his catering team! We used Hotel Banquet (aka Grace Catering) for our wedding last April and we cannot imagine using any other companies!

Andrew, the owner, is not only professional but very personal and actually cares for his clients. His staff and managers are also wonderful! Throughout the stress of our wedding planning season, Andrew made the catering and food part so smooth and easy. He really went out of his way to accommodate to our needs and gave us extra advice and guidance for our wedding day event. We got to sit down and meet with Andrew a few times, and he was always there to answer questions that we had.

In addition to the amazing service from this team, our guest loved the food. At first, we were concern about catering our ethically diverse guest list but the food from Hotel Banquet fulfilled most if not all taste buds! To this day, we continually receive compliments of how delicious the food was, thanks to the chefs at Hotel Banquet!

My wedding coordinator worked closely with the managers and thought that they were among the most caring, kind, and most professional people to work with.

Therefore, thumbs up in all areas with this company - from the food itself to professionalism, from personal care to reasonable prices... Hotel Catering deserves five stars in all aspects of service.

We hope this use this company in future events and continue to refer them to our dear friends and family.


Q T.
Diamond Bar, CA
Event Date: September 2014

If you're searching for a Chinese caterer look no further than Hotel Banquet. We just had our wedding in Diamond Bar and Uncle Andrew and his team did an amazing job, we couldn't be happier! Yup, we now call him "Uncle" Andrew, because he truly puts his heart and soul into making sure your special day goes right. Not only does he give you advice about food selection, but he also takes the time to provide you other important details to consider for the big day. He can be adamant about things sometimes, but it's only in your best interest.

If you care about authentic Chinese food, Hotel Banquet really brings that to your table. They actually bring the whole kitchen to the venue and are wok-ing onsite! Food is fresh and delicious. Parents were very happy and we received a lot of compliments from relatives and friends.


Wendy C.
Diamond Bar, CA
Event Date: September 2014

THANK YOU SO SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING!!! Words cannot express how appreciative i am of your and your staff.

Your food was amazing, awesome, perfect, and spectacular!

I am so lucky to have found your catering company. All the guests were in absolute amazement of the quality of food you provided. I have never seen so many guests asking to take food home!! And your level of experience was beyond expectations.

I wish I could have ate more food!!

Thank you so much for your help and guidance through during our wedding and the days leading up to it. You were so perfectly professional and gave us some of the best advice a bride could ask for. Thank you for making our day so perfect. I could not have asked for a better meal.

A million THANKS.
All the best,


Jayne
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: July 2014

Grace Catering/Hotel Banquet was AMAZING! They were the caterers for my wedding on 8/9/2014. Andrew is very experienced and we had SO much food at our wedding. Our guests commented how much they love the food. They also LOVED how Andrew prepared 6 buffet lines for 400+ people so no one waited for more than 10 mins to get their food! I've been at a wedding with 300 people with only 1 buffet line and it took more than an hour to have everyone get their food. It was pretty terrible. I didn't have to worry about a thing knowing that Andrew was there and had all the details taken care of. I would HIGHLY recommend Grace Catering for your wedding/event. :)


Christine L.
Rowland Heights, CA
Event Date: September 2014

Hotel banquet/grace catering really made my party remarkable! I had a 30 persons party at my backyard, as Grace catering promised, they set up almost everything for the party on time. All of my guests were so impressed with the food which were much better than other catering companies'. After party, all we did just packed the leftover, Grace catering come back the next day to clean up all their belongings neatly. The quality of food and services they provide are better than what I expected! Some of my quests asked for Grace catering's number during the party, so be ready to be inquired if you're going to have Hotel Banquet/Grace catering to do the party for you!


Eva S.
Diamond Bar, CA
Event Date: September 2014

We received truly exceptional service from the manager, Andrew Wang. We had never hired professional caterers for a small party before but wanted to have amazing food for our guests celebrating our baby's birthday. Andrew did not disappoint. He is very experienced, and was very accessible and accommodating of personal preferences and tastes. He was meticulous in planning every detail of the day. Our server, Tony was also wonderful. Both really went the extra mile for us and helped make the party a huge success. It sounds like Grace Catering/Hotel Banquet mostly serves large weddings and parties, but even for our smaller celebration (50-60 people), it was perfect. Would highly recommend them if you want to have a stress-free day because they will manage all the fine details of food setup, drinks, desserts, cleanup and everything in-between so you can enjoy your party. Food was also fresh, delicious, and plentiful. Still enjoying it one day later.


V C.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: September 2014

Andrew Wang has been in the business for a long time and when he said he knows what he is doing, he knows! We were glad Grace catering provided food for our wedding. Food and drink wise, he took care of everything for us. He created a new appetizer menu for us since most of the appetizers menu were all fried food.

Grace Catering also provided us with the wedding cake and everyone raved how good the cake was. The sweetness is just right and the cake just had enough sponginess to it. So awesome!

We had overabundant food at the wedding and everyone had a great time. I wish we didn't order extra food at the last minute as there were so many leftover, but all is good as we don't want the food to have ran out.


inge t.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Event Date: July 2014

Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering just catered my wedding on 9/29/2013. Andrew and his staff went above and beyond my expectations. They prepared all the food (10-course Asian banquet style) on-site at the DBC and it was just as good as the tasting event at his restaurant. They also provided hor d'oeuvres during cocktail hour and many guests raved about it. Andrew even provided a "tea station" with 5 different types of teas, which was amazing!

Overall, Andrew and his staff were fantastic. Everyone was very professional, they worked well with our other vendors and everything went smoothly. We were able to enjoy our wedding and did not have to stress about anything.

I feel like Andrew really cared about us and went the extra mile to ensure that our event went well. I would definitely recommend him to cater any event.


Johnny T.
Irvine, CA
Event Date: October 2013

I had the lucky fortune of being able to attend a tasting to sample their wedding banquet course. I have to say every dish came out beautifully. The presentation was on point-any meticulous bride would approve. I also liked that their dishes were not too "authentic" as to scare off any non-Asian wedding guests. This is really important because I've been to weddings where dishes were not touched because the non-asian guests thought the food to be too "wierd". No one would be happy if they spent $100 on a dish to have it go down the drain!

Some reviewers have mentioned that Andrew is not very friendly. I actually found it to be quite the contrary! He was extremely friendly from the moment he called me to confirm my reservation and I saw him joking with several of the guests during dinner. You can really tell he loves what he does. Who wouldn't love a job that brought food to a wonderful wedding celebration?

So, if you are looking for a caterer to cater a traditional Asian banquet, I do recommend trying them out. Sign up for their tastings if you get a chance!

To check out what kind of menus/prices they have: go to their other website: http://www.gracecatering...

Their prices are definitely reasonable! Their buffets range from $13 to $46/pp and for an addtional $1.50 per guest, they will include dessert, fruits Tray, Soft Drinks, Ice, Table Cloth, Napkins, China Plate.


LuCy t.
Irvine, CA
Event Date: December 2013

Don't want to be repetitive, but Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering was our best wedding vendor last May. Best way to judge who is the best vendor? The one that always calls you back, communicates well with you, works with your venue and other vendors, and most importantly, the one vendor you barely had to manage during the wedding day itself. That was Hotel Banquet / Grace Catering.

Wifey and I were looking for a good chinese caterer, the full 10-course deal with peking duck, lobster, shrimp, steamed fish, you know what i'm talking about. Chinese wedding: most important thing has to be food. Of course...wifey and I wanted to do this crazy outdoor location, where there was no kitchen. You'd think that of all places in the country that you could find a chinese caterer that can cook all this stuff outdoors, it would be LA. Nope. We hunted and hunted, did a couple of tastings, but we had a hard time finding even 1 such caterer. We met and almost contracted with Crystal Jade, but their owner kept promising they could do things, but kept blowing us off by email and phonecalls. They were terrible in their communications.

Enter Andrew (AWESOME). Not only was he super good about communications, but he didn't try to nickel and dime us, and really wanted to provide a good experience on our most important day. We had a tasting, negotiated on our price a bit, worked with us on a custom menu/dishes, and was an overall dream for any person who is already anal retentive about details of their big event. He was great in working with our location coordinator seamlessly.

The food was a bit hit come wedding day. While I don't think the food was as perfect as restaurant quality, I would say they did fantastic given the fact that they had to bring their entire kitchen and cook everything from scratch. The lobster and soup was a huge hit, and service by his team was fantastic. Easily our best caterer, and we only wish we could recommend him to more people.

Andrew... thank you so much for a great experience!


Y M.'s
San Francisco, CA
Event Date: May 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said?! The reviews with 5 stars most accurately reflect my experience with Hotel Banquet (Grace Catering) and Andrew Wang. If you're looking for a Chinese family style banquet for your wedding, this is the place to go.

My coworker, who was married about 7 years ago referred me to Andrew. Her guests still talk about how amazing the food was at her wedding years later. She warned me though, that he's not cuddly and friendly.... all business. My husband and our parents went to the food tasting - he has a few every year. $100 refundable deposit for you and your fiancé - for our parents, it was $40 per couple. Come hungry. The food was amazing and the servings were huge! A few weeks later, we met with Andrew to figure out exactly what we wanted for our menu and the costs. He's very to the point and doesn't waste your time. He listens to what you want, gives you suggestions if needed and we were able to negotiate with him. I appreciated that.

Our wedding menu:
Cold cut platter
Shark fin soup with crab
Stif fried lobster with garlic sauce
Honey walnut prawns
Chinese broccoli and Chinese mushrooms
Chicken with ginger and green onions
Filet Mignon with onions and garlic (Andrew style)
Fried fish with sweet and sour sauce
Fried rice
Fresh fruit

I had my wedding at a golf course with servers who never had served family style before. Andrew had his banquet manager, James, train all their staff before the wedding. Food is cooked outside with their own equipment and immediately brought out steaming hot. We had 20 tables. Andrew provided the teapots, teacups, chopsticks, soup spoons/bowls and lazy susans without an additional cost. The lazy susans are a dark red color - my wedding colors were hot pink and black. We just went to LA to buy hot pink satin and elastic. My husband's mom made all 20 of the lazy susan covers.

My friends are still talking about how amazing the food was and how they left the wedding stuffed. The servings are huge and everything was so tasty! I will never hesitate to use Andrew for all our future catering needs or to refer him to all our friends with upcoming weddings :) Andrew doesn't disappoint. I can't emphasize that enough. Best $11,500 spent!


Kim S.
Los Alamitos, CA
Event Date: June. 2012

I did a lot of research on chinese caterers in OC and LA and didn't find much who were licensed and had good quality food. Our friend used Furiwa for their wedding and they did not recommend Furiwa because they were not friendly to work with and they gave small portions for what they charged and they said their food wasn't good. The other catering company I looked into was Grace Catering (Hotel Banquet). I read some reviews on Yelp and saw some low ratings but since Grace Catering hosted a free tasting around that time, we decided to check it out.

The tasting consisted of a 8-9 course traditional chinese dinner- banquet style. Each plate that came out was big and full of food. There were 10 to a table and there were left overs to take home. I asked Andrew if that is the amount they normally serve on the day of the wedding and he said "Of Course". He say that he doesn't do any advertising and his servings and quality advertises itself. The lobster dish consisted of 5 lbs of lobster ( 2.5 lb each X2) and it was delicious. Every dish was flavorful and fresh. Grace Catering does not heat up their food, they cook fresh on the spot and serve right away. We were really impressed with the tasting!

Several weeks after the tasting we met with Andrew to get more info on the menu and pricing and details of our venue to see if he was able to cater in the Estate we had picked. He assured us it wasn't a problem and that he was experienced and for us to not worry. I'm not really a laid back person when it comes to planning and I asked a lot of questions to make sure that we are on the same page and Andrew was very patient in answering all of my concerns. I felt that he had been running that catering business for so long and have so much experience I felt confident that he will do a good job because everything he told us made perfect sense. I trusted my instincts because Andrew came across as professional and knowledgable in his profession.

Andrew did not let us down.. on the day of the wedding, everything went smoothly and James (catering manager) and the crew were professional and was all smiles the whole time. Andrew dropped by to congratulate us that day too!

After the wedding we received so many compliments.. over and over we heard " Your caterer gave a lot of food, it was the most food I've ever seen at a wedding." My aunt asked me if we had paid double for the quantity of food on each plate and I told her NO, our caterer is very generous with portions. Others said " The food didn't seem like it had MSG because I was not thirsty afterwards."

I think a lot of people were surprised of how fresh and tasty the food was because they thought that catered food would just be heated up, but in fact Grace Catering cooks all their food fresh on the spot. And that was another reason why we picked Grace Catering over others.


Marianne S.
Los Alamitos, CA
Event Date: March. 2012

We recently had our wedding reception catered by Hotel Banquet (Grace Catering) at Diamond Bar Center for 160 people.

Based on past weddings we've attended, food at a wedding is not the most memorable thing ever. But we're actually surprised by the numerous guests that come to us several weeks after the wedding to let us know how much they liked and enjoyed the food. As with any good Chinese food, we personally saw plenty of friends grabbing multiple "to go" boxes for all the left over food. Also, we were pleasantly surprised since the food that was served tasted much better than what we had during our taste testing (which was also happened to be free for the both of us).

Andrew is quite an interesting guy. If your easy going, then I'm sure you'd get along with him just fine... But if you the kind of person that is "my way or the high way", then you'd probably have a tough time with him. He tends to give quite a few "suggestions" regarding the banquet, which is more like the "do as I say" kind of suggestion. This is the part that apparently quite a few couples will get caught up on. Follow his advice, though it may not match your ideas perfectly, and things will go just fine, like he promises... don't follow his highly recommended advice, and well... he doesn't really like it when people don't follow his advice, but after all what does he know right? He's only been in this industry for the last many, many years. We had quite a few things not go according to plan during our wedding, BUT thankfully, everything "food" related went completely smoothly, all thanks to Andrew and his staff.

As an added bonus, if you listen to him, like you would to your favorite uncle, then he provides quite a lot of advice and prior experience regarding your wedding.

Pros
Reasonably priced.
Waiters and manager were kind and quite helpful.
Provided small dish portions of food for our sweetheart table, which was above and beyond the contract agreement.
Food tasted great, or so quite a large majority of our guests say so.
His repeated reassurances that thing will go just fine (which they did) gave us a much needed peace of mind for the day of (unlike some other vendors)
Andrew gave lots of insight regarding what to do and avoid for our wedding.

Cons
Andrew gave lots of insight regarding what to do and avoid for our wedding... there are people that may not take it all that well when his advice isn't quite what their wedding looked like in their mind


Charles C.
Temple City, CA
Event Date: March. 2012

Andrew and Grace Catering are AMAZING! If we could give this company a 6, we would.

He's Taiwanese and at first seems a little overbearing... He really thinks he's the best and he will tell you so himself. LOL. But he really is great and he'll make sure you get all your arrangements for the big day and he'll give you hints on how to not make certain mistakes for the food/wedding site/various arrangements. He's very responsible and my husband was initially scared of him, but turns out, he was the most helpful vendor during the whole wedding process. He even showed up at our wedding to make sure everything was going ok, when he's not paid to do so (there was already a manager from his company). We had an outdoor wedding and they cooked on site, prepared everything fresh and had very nice looking covering for their cooking area. His people were professional, showed up on time, dressed appropriately for the events, cooked DELICIOUS food and at very cheap prices. We HIGHLY recommend him!


elizabeth l.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: February. 2012

Andrew and the staff at Hotel Banquet(Grace Catering) really are exceptional at what they do and how they do it.

We had a wedding reception in a fully outdoor venue. This means that the chefs and staff cooked and served a 10 course Chinese meal to 130 guests, completely outdoors and on grass successfully and with precision. Their food was cooked fresh at the wedding site. They time the wedding and cook start time so that as soon as the guests are seated, they are served immediately with fresh, delicious food. This is definitely not the case in your typical pre-prepped, pre-cooked, in the heater type of wedding reception dinner.

The vegetarian guests were served additional vegetarian dishes at the table as well. They really enjoyed those dishes and appreciated that those were as well thought out as the other traditional dishes.

My wife and I had a sweetheart table. So they made sure that dishes were served to us in smaller china and in the right portion, to allow us to enjoy all the courses. Andrew stressed to us that we had to make sure we eat during the wedding (sometimes brides/grooms eat very little with how fast weddings move). His staff was attentive and made sure we were properly taken care of with priority, this really helped in his advice.

Value and pricing is excellent with Hotel Banquet. The quality of food/service/staff relative to the price you pay is very very good.

Andrew is easy to work with, he thinks of all the logistical details and plans everything out to a T. This keeps you from having to stress out about all the little catering details, he just thinks of all of it for you in foresight. Funny guy too, I enjoyed our meetings.


Jimmy L.
Rowland Heights, CA
Event Date: 1

We researched other catering companies but ultimately went with Hotel Banquet aka Grace Catering (I don't know why they go by diff names!) because of the value. We got quotes from Furiwa and Grace Catering for 20 tables; Andrew from Grace Catering quoted around 12k and Stacie from Furiwa quoted 22k.

I'll tell you now that Andrew is not your nice-uber-friendly-so-excited-that-you're-getting- married type of guy. His company is there to cook and serve good food. He's all business, no BS, and definitely knows what he's doing. Stacie from Furiwa is like your BFF who wants to help you with all sorts of wedding stuff and she'll emphasize that you'll get more than just food from her, you'll get a pseudo wedding coordinator.

While I was tempted to have the nice girly gal who wanted to help me with decorations and other suggestions, it was not worth the extra $8000 or so. I think Furiwa would be good for someone who needs the extra hand holding and assistance throughout their wedding. When it comes to weddings I didn't really need that from a caterer -- I wanted someone who knows what exactly what their job is and who will do it expediently and professionally. Andrew is fit the bill.

We initially had reservations about hosting a Chinese banquet cooked entirely outdoors in propane woks -- how was that going to work? Is the food going to be cold? Will it be prepared on time? Can they handle 18 tables at once? My husband had numerous phone calls and visits to Andrew and assured me that everything would work out fine, and boy did they ever deliver. The menu was exactly as we planned; food was served on-time, hot, and delicious. We served a cold cuts platter, sharks fin soup, beef, lobster, walnut prawns, steamed fish, abalone, and fried rice. Yum! In addition, the waiters were professional and knew what they were doing. They all have been handpicked by Andrew and have worked with him for a long time.

I recommend going to Andrew's tastings, you can find the dates on the website. It's $100 per couple, refundable. Just fill out the form and he'll give you directions on sending your deposit. You'll get the check back when you show up. Show up VERY hungry! Our wedding menu ended up being quite similar to the tasting menu. Andrew was very flexible in allowing us some substitutions for our wedding day. Throughout the process, Andrew was very communicative and responded via email or phone call promptly.

Another thing to keep in mind with serving Chinese food at American venues- you have to ask the catering company if things like linens, chopsticks, plates, lazy susans, soup spoons/bowls, etc are included. Furiwa wanted to charge us like $1500 extra for them to provide those things, including $1pp for chopsticks. Grace Catering includes everything in their set prices. Also, Furiwa has a ridiculous 3k set up and tear down fee. Grace catering charges a fee too, but it was much less- like 1k?

The only caveat is that if you had some vegetarian guests, Andrew won't cook separate veggie meals for them. I solved that problem by finding a Thai restaurant nearby my reception that offered a variety of veggie dishes and that delivered.

So besides the food you gotta keep the other extras in mind when picking a caterer. If you're looking for the qualities listed above, then Andrew at Grace Catering/Hotel Banquet is your vendor!


Jeannie J.
Event Location: Hawthorne, CA
Event Date: Feb. 2011

Andrew and his crew did an amazing job at our wedding recently.
Andrew is a wonderful caterer with a professional and efficient staff that made our dining needs stress free. Being in the food business ourselves, I can honestly say that Grace Catering is on their "A" Game as we found out from beginning to end.

My wife (fiancé during that time) and I were having a whirlwind schedule trying to organize a 450 (guest and vendors) person wedding in 3 months time, and our wonderful sister in-law was the hero finding both the venue and Andrew's company.

Having someone that understands what it takes to logistically handle a buffet style set-up for a large party and is willing to be honest with you with what we can expect and what we should take of on our end was crucial for our receptions success. We had an 12 entrees that we chose. This included

Stir Fried Spicy Squid with Veggies & Peanuts
Braised Beef Short Ribs with Chinese Radish
Korean Style Seasoned Potato Noodle & Veggies
House Baked Chicken
Honey Walnut with Prawn
Fresh Mushrooms & Baby Bok Choy Cold platter
Smoked Duck
Salt & Pepper Blue Crabs
Sautéed Prawn with Sauce
Whole Fish Sweet and Sour
Stir fried beef
Shanghai Chow Mein

On top of this Andrew, included 3 more dishes of beautifully presented fresh fruit, sesame buns, and rice. There was more then enough food for people to stack high plates of meat, another plate of seafood, and a runback for starches and veggies.

With an idea of our budget requirements Andrew made it clear that a buffet was our best financial option, but offered to have his staff serve our parents tables as well as our couple table. The original schematics drawn up for the Friendship Auditorium in Griffith Park had our buffet area shaped in a "T" formation, which had our guests snaking around the tables to serves themselves. Being busy taking pictures and attending to wedding couple duties, I was quite surprised seeing that they were able to break the table up into 2 parallel rows with enough decorative chaffing frames and linens for each section to have the entrees mentioned above. This sped up food service by nearly a full hour as now 4 separate lines were made available to our guests to serve themselves and return for seconds or thirds as they liked. For those that know, that is absolutely huge in wedding timelines because of the tight scheduling and usual delays associated with such a program.

All in all, there were only a few criteria my wife and I had in having a wedding reception.

  1. A space large enough to fit as many of our friends, family, and community together to thank them for being a part of our lives.
  2. Awesome music provided by our circle of talented musicians and DJs.
  3. Booze Booze Booze
  4. Enough good food with variety for folks to enjoy

Andrew, James, and Grace Catering handled the last item soundly within a budget that I can guarantee is more then reasonable and fair. With an excellent service that keeps you from having to worry about that aspect of the party, allowing you to focus on your newly married partner and your guests.


Johneric C.
Event Location: Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Jan, 2011

Andrew and his crew did an amazing job at our wedding recently.
Andrew was very helpful and accomodating throughout the planning.
We had a buffet style dinner and Andrew helped us customize the menu to accomodate our needs.

They served good quality food and they were very delicious.
I was afraid my in laws who usually picky with food, wouldn't like the menu. But they were very happy and satisfied. We even got compliments from our guests about the food.

Thanks Andrew and staffs for making our wedding memorable. I highly reccomend Andrew to anyone who's looking for good quality food.


Tina
Event Date: June 26, 2010
Event Location: Orcutt Ranch

I'm a wedding coordinator located in Orange County; I recently had the pleasure of working with Andrew Wang and his team for one my clients' weddings. I'm very picky about vendors, especially caterers so I had my usual doubts. However, my clients had already contracted with this caterer (also known as Grace Catering) so I knew I had to make the best of it no matter what the situation. We worked together at one of the more difficult venues to work in Orange County and I was pleasantly surprised by Andrew and his team. They did an amazing job! They were always gracious and smiling. They worked incredibly hard to make sure they kept to our strict timeline. The presentation of the food was beautiful. I heard many of the bridal party and guests commented on how plentiful and wonderful the food tasted. At some point near the end of the evening, I tried the Honey Walnut Shrimp and I can tell you the guests had it right because it was absolutely amazing! If you are looking for a caterer that can create fabulous Chinese cuisine for your event or wedding, I encourage you to check this establishment out. You are sure to be impressed!


Kerry P.
July 20, 2010
Lake Forest, CA

My wedding was catered by Andrew and his company three years ago, now my daughter is 2, and we send Andrew my daughter's photo on Christmas card every year. That's how much we love him and his company's service.

I was wandering on http://Yelp.com when I bumped into Hotel Banquet's reviews. I am amazed how different the opinion is on this business and on Andrew. I did lots of research before my own wedding. In the end, no one could beat Andrew's price and quality, not even close. We went to his food tasting, which is full course dinner served just like at an actual wedding, we were impressed. So were our guests at the wedding. Our wedding was a sit-down dinner at the Arboretum, where Andrew and his crew set up their mobile kitchen outside the garden, no lights at the night other than their own lights. The dishes turned out to be warm, fresh, delicious and the portion is huge. Many guests complimented us especially on the food, and a few of our guests contacted us after the wedding for their contact info. I have since introduced a few other friends to Andrew who catered their weddings successfully.

Besides the quality of the food, his crew's service is wonderful too. They had a parade of waiting staff at the beginning of serving dinner. I've only seen that at a dinner on a cruise. Their waiting staff are nice and polite, very thorough when it comes to explaining things to the guests or changing forks to chopsticks or vice versa. I have not heard any complaint from any guest afterwards.

As to Andrew's customer service style, my husband and I like him a lot. He is a very straight forward person, some may interpret it as being blunt. But he is indeed an extremely nice person. He is always willing to help, trying to think of ways to work under your budget. He is not the type that will nickel and dime you either. He would go to the wedding site to do his research before the wedding, and remind the staff at the venue what to prepare to accommodate on-site catering. Many staff do not really have a clue, but with Andrew's long-time experience in this business, he makes sure to patch all loose ends before the wedding. He is a perfectionist, which might have contributed to the conversation where he insisted someone to buy the Costco table. I think he meant well. He is very meticulous when it comes to the quality of his food and service. He would even commend his kitchen staff to chop the lobsters in certain size, not too small, not too big, so that all pieces would have enough flavor, and the lobster meat remains in the shell when served. When we went to him for initial consultation, we brought the menu we chose, circled the dishes we want, and told him our budget. He switched around some dishes, suggested a few ways to save money and look good on the table, then, it's done.

All in all, I am extremely happy with his service, and I will continue referring my friends to him.


Mingli
Event Location: Arboretum, Arcadia

When our friend introduced us to Hotel Banquet, we had no idea who they were. But now we would like to take this opportunity to thank Andrew, the owner, for doing an exceedingly superb job in catering my daughter's wedding reception.

It all started when Andrew helped us designed the food items that were within our budget for 400 wedding guests. And then we were a little concerned about the quantity not being enough if all 400 guests showed up. It was with Andrew's professional experience that he not only eased our concerns, but also gave us the satisfaction guaranteed.

Another thing that we really appreciate Andrew's expertise is that he suggested using cocktail tables at the reception area. We loved his creative idea and the tables really made the room looked elegant.

Thank you, Andrew, for making the most important event in our lives beautiful and memorable.


Mr. & Mrs. Lin
Event Date: June 19, 2010
Event Location:First Evangelical Church of Cerritos

We've met with Andrew about seven months before our wedding. During our first meeting, Andrew's detail-oriented knowledge was so impressive. After the meeting, we felt that Andrew's professional experience is very trustworthy and we're very confident that Andrew would help us a lot in our wedding banquet.

Before our wedding, Andrew helped us a lot in determing the food, drink, wedding cake, etc. He also provided many good suggestions regarding the layout and helpers in the ceremony.

Finally, on the big day, the food turned out to be so good, delicious and abundant. Some friends, who have attended many weddings, said that this is the first time they've seen so much delicious food in the wedding ceremony. The wedding cake is very delicous too. We've followed Andrew's idea of just sprinkling some red roses on the cake. This simple idea really made the wedding cake to be so beautiful. Andrew's staff were very capable and experienced. We hardly saw them in the ceremony, but we knew they worked hard in making everything so organized and beautiful.

Everything was so perfect in our wedding. Andrew and his crew's help in the banquet was a big part of it. We really appreciate their help. Great job, Andrew and his staff!


Lynda
Event Date:
June 12, 2010
Event Location: Calvary Church, Santa Ana

We had a 400 people wedding at the South Coast Botanic Garden in Palos Verde. I'm a wedding planner and my bride Sarah asked me for some suggestion for catering. I gave Sarah 10 catering companies to choose from. After some food tasting, she decided to use Hotel Banquet. On the wedding day the food was very good with a variety of selections for the guests. Also there was more than enough food for every one. The quality is excellent and the staffs were professional.

Andrew is the main contact person through out the planning and he was very experienced and also provided useful advice. He will suggest what kind of food base on your guests' background. He knows what dishes are popular among different group of people. You really get more than what you paid for. The price is so reasonable for the quality of the food. Over all every one enjoyed the food very much.


Sandy Liang, Aquafuzion Inc.
Event Date:
June, 2010
Event Location: South Coast Botanic Garden

Andrew was more than helpful in making this event turn out to be wonderful. He helped take care of a lot of the small things so we could concentrate on what was important, our wedding! When he says he'll take care of it, believe him because he will definitely take care of it for you. Thanks to Andrew and the entire staff for making our wedding memorable.


Daniel
Event Date:
February 14, 2010
Event Location: Cerritos Center for the Performing Arts

Great job. Very fast, professional, courteous service. Everyone loved the food. Thank you! We look forward to working with you again in the future.


Judy Lai
Event Date:
January 23, 2009
Event Location: Pasadena, CA

Andrew saved my day. With only one day prior notice of the event, I had no idea what to expect. Finally, I called Andrew and all arrangements were done in 30 minutes. Online menu order was easy to navigate. His input and suggestions were genuine. On the event date only 5 hours prior to the event, he even allowed me to change the entire menu. It was a garden buffet for 35 people and with only one server the service was attentive and professional. The best most popular dish was the $120 sushi/sashimi platter, served on a platinum boat, was good sized and very fresh. Other dishes cooked to perfection include, grilled shrimp, Korean noodles, sea cucumber, etc. The outcome was beyond expectation. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is planning an event.


Jennifer
Event Date:
January 30, 2009
Event Location: Irvine, CA

Dear Andrew,

It is with great pleasure that I write this letter to you and your staff at Grace Catering and L.A. Catering!

We at the Crystal Cathedral want to thank you for all the ways you have served us all through the years!

You have provided a wonderful service to our brides and grooms for the most important day in their lives. They have been tended to with every detail by you and the staff at Grace Catering and L.A. Catering!

You have also been so very generous to us in providing food for our Community Outreach event every year. You have gone above and beyond to make our Community Fest an amazing day!

We sincerely thank you and your team for all they do for us here at the Crystal Cathedral and wish you every success in the years to come!


Blessings,
Event Date:
December 22, 2008
Event Location:
Michelle Cavinder
Director Men's, Women's and Learning Network

Amazing food!!! Wonderful service. Exceeded my expectations! I will definitely be recommending Andrew and his staff to anyone needing catering service. They went above and beyond to make sure my wedding day was a success and I got so... many compliments about the food. It was unbelievable. Every single person loved it!! Not one complaint!!! Thanks so much Andrew. You are simply the best!!!! I hope everyone see's this review and books you right away!!!!


Tran Han
Event Date:
12/06/2008
Event Location: Diamond Bar, CA


©  Crystal Wedding Catering All Rights Reserved.